Explore the
Universe

Step 1 of 2

Create your profile to get all your Alpha Program notifications in one convenient location.

The Basics

Must contain at least 8 characters, an uppercase character, a lowercase character, and a number. No symbols or special characters allowed.
Next
By joining the Alpha Universe community, you agree to the Terms and the Sony Electronics Inc. Privacy Policy and certify that you are a U.S. resident. (CA Privacy Notice).

Personalize Your Profile

Step 2 of 2

Create your profile to get all your Alpha Program notifications in one convenient location.

Your Specialty *

(Select All That Apply)


I am a... *

(Select All That Apply)


(Optional)


What kind of camera(s) do you shoot with? *

(Select All That Apply)

Aug. 15-16, 2020

#SonyKandoEverywhere

August 15-16, 2020

#SonyKandoEverywhere

Energize and ignite your creative spirit at Kando Everywhere.

Kando Trip may be postponed until 2021, but we’re bringing some of its magic online, everywhere. Join the Alpha Family at this special two-day, like-no-other virtual event that will challenge you as a photographer and filmmaker, connect you with the creator community, and get you excited for what’s ahead.

When

Saturday, August 15 –
Sunday, August 16

Where

Online

Price

FREE

Portfolio Reviews

Get a chance to receive professional feedback on your work from a Sony Artisan of Imagery. Upload your current portfolio to your public Creator Profile gallery and submit your name to be considered for a LIVE open audience portfolio review at Kando Everywhere. If your portfolio is selected for review, we will contact you the day before to ensure you'll be present for the session. Good luck!

Submit your profile

Event Itinerary

Saturday & Sunday, August 15 & 16

  • 8:00 AM PDT / 15:00 GMT Welcome To Kando Everywhere
  • 8:30 AM PDT / 15:30 GMT Sessions
  • 9:30 AM PDT / 16:30 GMT Community Spotlights & Announcements
  • 10:00 AM PDT / 17:00 GMT Portfolio Review
  • 10:30 AM PDT / 17:30 GMT Sessions
  • 11:30 AM PDT / 18:30 GMT Community Spotlights & Announcements
  • 12:00 PM PDT / 19:00 GMT Portfolio Review
  • 12:30 PM PDT / 19:30 GMT Creator Conversation & Keynote
  • 1:30 PM PDT / 20:30 GMT Community Spotlights & Announcements
  • 2:00 PM PDT / 21:00 GMT Sessions
  • 3:00 PM PDT / 22:00 GMT Community Spotlights & Announcements
  • 3:30 PM PDT / 22:30 GMT Portfolio Review
  • 4:00 PM PDT / 23:00 GMT Sessions
  • 5:00 PM PDT / 00:00 GMT The Latest From Sony
  • 5:30 PM PDT / 1:30 GMT Special Activities
  • 8:00 AM PDT / 15:00 GMT Welcome To Kando Everywhere
  • 8:30 AM PDT / 15:30 GMT Sessions
  • 9:30 AM PDT / 16:30 GMT Community Spotlights & Announcements
  • 10:00 AM PDT / 17:00 GMT Portfolio Review
  • 10:30 AM PDT / 17:30 GMT Sessions
  • 11:30 AM PDT / 18:30 GMT Community Spotlights & Announcements
  • 12:00 PM PDT / 19:00 GMT Portfolio Review
  • 12:30 PM PDT / 19:30 GMT Creator Conversation & Keynote
  • 1:30 PM PDT / 20:30 GMT Community Spotlights & Announcements
  • 2:00 PM PDT / 21:00 GMT Sessions
  • 3:00 PM PDT / 22:00 GMT Community Spotlights & Announcements
  • 3:30 PM PDT / 22:30 GMT Portfolio Review
  • 4:00 PM PDT / 23:00 GMT Sessions
  • 5:00 PM PDT / 00:00 GMT The Latest From Sony
  • 5:30 PM PDT / 1:30 GMT Special Activities

Instructors

kando speaker Jeff Berlin
Jeff Berlin
Photographer, Filmmaker
kando speaker Chris Burkard
Chris Burkard
Photographer, Filmmaker, Author
kando speaker Louis Cole
Louis Cole
Filmmaker & YouTube Personality
kando speaker Tomayia Colvin
Tomayia Colvin
Photographer & Educator
kando speaker Crissi Beth Cooper
Crissi Beth Cooper
Photographer
kando speaker Jermaine Horton
Jermaine Horton
Wedding Photographer
kando speaker Marvi Lacar
Marvi Lacar
Documentary Photographer & Filmmaker
kando speaker Kesha Lambert
Kesha Lambert
Wedding & Portrait Photographer
kando speaker Ben Lowy
Ben Lowy
Photographer
kando speaker Cristina Mittermeier
Cristina Mittermeier
Conservation Photographer
kando speaker Tiffany Nguyen
Tiffany Nguyen
Adventure Travel Photographer
kando speaker Miguel Quiles
Miguel Quiles
Portrait Photographer & YouTube Personality
kando speaker Eli Reed
Eli Reed
Photographer & Photojournalist
kando speaker Rachel Jones Ross
Rachel Jones Ross
Photographer
kando speaker Tobi Shinobi
Tobi Shinobi
Photographer
kando speaker Brooke Shaden
Brooke Shaden
Fine Art Photographer & Author
kando speaker Brian Smith
Brian Smith
Portrait Photographer

Workshops

The Storied Brand
Instructor: Brooke Shaden

Transform your business and legacy into a story with impact

Brooke Shaden will teach her techniques for transforming your business into a story people want to hear and building a legacy you're proud of.

Inside The Portrait Studio
Instructor: Miguel Quiles

Tour Miguel's studio and see his tools of the trade for portraiture

Join Miguel Quiles in his own professional studio and see the tools of the trade he uses to shoot portraits with impact. 

Maximizing Social Media Potential
Instructor: Tiffany Nguyen

Transform social media into a powerful business engine

Social media can be a powerful tool for your business. Tiffany will teach you how to maximize the potential of Instagram and use it with intention so that you can make the most out of the time you spend on social media.

See What I See: Architectural Photography
Instructor: Tobi Shinobi

Learn how to photograph amazing architecture

Tag along with Tobi as he navigates the legendary architecture of the Windy City. Join his second class of the day to learn how he edits.

Documentary Filmmaking
Instructor: Chris Burkard

Peek behind the scenes of making a documentary

What does it take to tell a real story? Chris will take you through a behind-the-scenes look at documentary filmmaking.

Inside Travel Video Production
Instructor: Louis Cole

Portrait Psychology
Instructor: Miguel Quiles

Learn the secrets to stunning portraiture

Learn the secrets Miguel Quiles uses to take stunning portraits and his tips to elevate your work to new levels.

Evocative Fine Art
Instructor: Brooke Shaden

Creating fine art series that provokes and lingers in everyone's minds

Learn from celebrated fine artist Brooke Shaden the secrets behind creating a fine art series that provokes and entices.

Understanding Composition
Instructor: Tiffany Nguyen

The most important techniques of composition that enthralls

Learn the most important techniques of composition and how to use them to tell engaging stories with your photos. You’ll learn how to capture unique and well-balanced photos that strike a chord with your audience.

Making The Perfect Pitch
Instructor: Chris Burkard

Get paid to bring your dream project to life

Telling stories is hard. Getting them funded is even harder. Chris will share everything you need to know about pitching your dream project and getting paid to do it.

Editing Architectural Photography
Instructor: Tobi Shinobi

Edit amazing architectural shots for maximum effect

As a follow-up to his morning class on architectural photography, Tobi will teach how to get the most out of your files by editing with Adobe Lightroom.

Creating Video For Social Good
Instructor: Louis Cole

Capturing Magic Hour
Instructor: Brian Smith

Magic Hour is but a moment: be ready to capture it

"Magic Hour" occurs at twilight, when artificial light balances with the night sky, but is at its peak for only a few minutes. Brian Smith will explain how to make the most of this special light and take your nightscape images to the next level.

Wedding Lighting On The Fly
Instructor: Kesha Lambert

Capture a wedding at its best regardless of lighting conditions

The moments of the wedding day flicker and unfold quickly. Lighting conditions range from soft diffused to hard sun to low light within the span of one day. In this class, we will explore quick and simple lighting techniques to create dynamic images on the fly.

Cinematic Timelapse At Home
Instructor: Drew Geraci

Creating cinematic timelapse photography at home is now a reality

Learn how to create beautiful high-resolution timelapse photography/videography at home, ready-to-share on social media.

How To Do A Style Shoot
Instructor: Jermaine Horton

Learn the secrets of style shoots and generate more work

Learn the importance of Style Shoots and how they can lead to more work. Jermaine will share his approach on lighting subjects in different locations and when to use lighting along with the right lens selections. He will shared his tips for building relationships with venues and inspiring them to bring you new clients.

Production in Place: Creativity & Patience
Instructors: Ben Lowy, Marvi Lacar

Expand your creativity under any circumstances (including isolation!)

Lowy+Lacar used their willing children (and dogs) to create an irreverent parent’s guide to surviving the lockdown. They will take the audience through the creation of this mind-blowing book.

On Location In The Canadian Rockies
Instructor: Rachel Ross

Plan a great photographic adventure that leads to exquisite landscape shots

Join Rachel for a behind-the-scenes look at how she plans for an adventure, finds unique compositions, and uses the properties of wide-angle lenses to capture the grand landscapes of the Canadian Rockies.

Staying Creative in Challenging Times
Instructors: Ben Lowy, Marvi Lacar

Stay creative in weird times and thrive in your new environment

You are stuck at home, there are no gigs, the fridge is empty, but Instagram seems full. The fog of creative depression is setting in. How can we take this opportunity of being mostly broke and destitute and create new work? Ben Lowy will take you through his approach to staying creative in "weird" times.

From Bad Locations To Great Backgrounds
Instructor: Brian Smith

Terrible backgrounds don't have to result in terrible shots

Paying attention to what’s behind the subject is the key to great environmental portraits. Brian will show you how improving the background makes the subject shine. Learn how to overcome a bad location and take great locations to the next level.

Night Photography Techniques
Instructor: Rachel Ross

Shoot into the night without missing a single detail

Learn the challenges of photographing in near-complete darkness, and techniques for overcoming low light limitations. Rachel will also discuss her favorite apps for planning, her gear for night shooting, and setting up your Sony camera for a night under the stars.

Ocean People
Instructor: Cristina Mittermeier

The future of the world is in our hands--we're all Ocean People

One in every seven people around the world depends on the ocean as a primary source of food. Cristina shares her work in coastal communities standing up to protect and restore the bounty of their ancestral shores, and creates an experience that will open your heart and mind, concluding that we are all ocean people.

The Ultimate Wedding Photography Bag
Instructor: Jermaine Horton

Dig through the ultimate wedding photography bag and never miss key shots again

Jermaine will answer the frequent question of what gear he always brings to never miss a fabulous shot during a wedding, and will help you select the right tools to get it done.

Monetizing Your Video Content
Instructor: Drew Geraci

Put your video to work and generate more passive income

Learn the best methods to take your passion for photography & video to the next level and generate passive income with your creations.